Jeffect header

When I first started writing on LinkedIn, I was a bit lost. I had never blogged or written anything significant. I asked many in my network to support me early. I emailed links and asked for likes/comments. I figured people would grow tired of this so I stopped asking so many people.

Except for a couple of “hits” my traffic numbers waned. I didn’t mind that, as I was learning my own style.
_________________________________________
I think Jeffrey Strickland found me first. I had made a comment on a post by Brigette Hyacinth and he commented on one of my posts. He was brief but very supportive. I reciprocated. We connected (I could have these events out of order but that isn’t important).

A couple of weeks later, Jeffrey wrote a post about ‘The Harder Way‘. I was being a bit selfish by providing him a link to my post ‘The Easy Gear‘. I just felt that they tied together so well, that it warranted a “link bomb”. He was in the U.S. Army…he can handle a bomb, right? Well, he did with grace, and then some. Maybe it was his comment. Maybe it was my link bomb. All I know is that I found the Jeffect and it wasn’t stats.

I have learned much from Dr. Strickland. Some of the predictive and math models are clearly over my head, but so many of his other posts hit home. He has exposed himself (no, not in that way) and some of his experiences to us.

His I rode with Wallace series skillfully summed up his military career in little paragraph bites. While I assume there is virtually a book behind each one, I still feel like a was a fly in the wall, watching a quick film about all of his incredible experiences.

I Rode With Wallace Part I  II  III  IV  V  VI  VII

Jeffery has had to overcome incredible obstacles but instead of complaining, he has chosen to kick ass at each one. With each interaction, he’s gentle, considerate, and an example that each of us might aspire to become. I bet he could still kick ass at more than a predictive model. He kicks ass at being genuine. He regularly promotes others with his writing and encourages others to do the same.

The Jeffect is about being better person as a result of my affiliation. He’s in my network. How about yours?


Intro: DebThe Queen of ConversatingHelfrich

Getting started on LinkedIn – How to begin building a community

I love Trent’s story about Jeffrey Strickland. It is not an exaggeration to say that Jeffrey is leading thousands of people every day by simply being himself on LinkedIn.

I joined LinkedIn in August 2005 I had a nearly empty shell as my account for 10 years, I was able to get work as a software consultant easily through other channels, and being an extreme introvert I had a long-standing belief that I was not meant to be on social media. After a nice long sabbatical from consulting and ready to do something entirely different, I decided to open a business earlier this year. I wasn’t quite sure how to do what I really wanted to do, so I went with something that seemed easier to market – become an interview coach.

This was the best worst decision I ever made. I helped a lot of people over the years get jobs and they all said I was very good at giving them the perspective and practice that helped them in interviews, so it seemed like a pretty good place to start, but my heart was not fully invested. That is always a mistake. But the fact that I wanted to help people who were interviewing, meant I needed to tackle my resistance to LinkedIn.

It was not easy. I spent a few months coming to the site, getting overwhelmed, and clicking away within minutes. I was spinning my wheels. In June, I finally challenged myself to just spend time every single day reading articles on LinkedIn. I am a world class reader so I started with what came naturally and didn’t force myself to be anything I wasn’t. I left 35 comments in June. I doubt anyone noticed me and I had no conversations.

Over the 4th of July holiday, I finally asked myself why couldn’t I commit to figuring out how to use LinkedIn. I decided to go for it. In July I left 439 comments – you can get an export of your comments from LI along with the rest of your data. For most of July, I was just practicing. I read widely. I scrolled through Pulse every single work day. Talking about interviews was merely work, but when I could find a post that really interested me, I got excited and developed a style of commenting that felt right to me. Still my network was around 40 people.

Then I bumped into Jeffrey. On July 21st, he thanked me for viewing his profile. And my life changed. The person I am able to be today on LinkedIn is because of the simple act of kindness he extended to me and that I watch him do for others every single day.

How to start a professional relationship on LinkedIn:

When I went and found this exchange and realized how perfectly it demonstrates a number of the principles that both Jeffrey and I stand for – and why we both support the concept of Unfluence – I reached out to him for permission use this screen print to write a how-to post on the simple act of making a new connection into someone you are having a conversation with.

Well, he is a lot more prolific than I am, I think and reflect a lot before I write, probably way too much. So he beat me to the punch and wrote a post about conversating that is probably one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me. Of course, I needed I return the favor.

If you know Jeffrey Strickland your life has been enhanced. If you don’t know him, view his profile – you never know what might happen!

4.5 of his favorite posts (we tricked him into sharing this with us):
How I Overcame
Can We Agree To Disagree?
Measuring Success by Friendship
Who Are the Unfluencers? (and Redux)

